top of page
Writer's pictureJoshua McKelvey

IBM Terminal Monitor Powers Up!


The monitor powers up and can display things!

I had to use 3 power supplies for this project: one for the computer, one for the monitor at 15V 1A and one at 5V.

When I first powered it up, it wasn't working very well but then I figured out that the picture was too tall for the monitor and I had to adjust the vertical picture.

Before:                                             After:

There is still another problem though. The monitor seems to be starting the character's lines in the correct place, but then it seems to hold the beam on for too long and it runs into the next character making it look blurry and having all of the text extra bold. This is shown clearly by the fact that the dash goes into the equal sign's character box but the equal sign starts in the correct position:

 There is also the chance that the monitor is normal and that the graphics card I have is faulty, but I am just mostly relieved that it works as well as it does after being totally disassembled and not even being meant to be used with a normal PC. Next thing to do is to create a power supply for it so I wont need to use bench ones to power it and make it overall much more compact.

1/21 Update: Just uploaded a video of it working!


243 views0 comments
bottom of page