top of page
Writer's pictureJoshua McKelvey

Starting the Monitor dissasembly


To make this monitor work, I will first need to disassemble it to get at the circuit board. However, getting it open is already the first challenge. I used a picture showing the locations of the IBM 5151 monitors screws, but this monitor is already quite different:

I tried to take out just the visible screws on the other side but it still did not open up. I then looked at the locations where there were screws on the 5151 and sure enough, the screws were hidden under some plastic covers!

I was then able to open it and boy was it dusty!

After blowing it off with a leaf blower and canned air, it looked much better:

Next step is to take off the motherboard and start probing! But I will save that for later, because looking for those screws really wore me out.


81 views0 comments
bottom of page