top of page
Writer's pictureJoshua McKelvey

Setup and Organization (The parts arrive)


The parts have finally arrived! Well, at least most of them have as they sent me these plastic pieces instead of 74ls377s as they were supposed to...

Luckily, I had some spare ones as I had ordered some previously because I thought that they would be a useful thing to keep around and it turned out that I was correct! Anyway, here is the blank slate: a four piece breadboard which should be about the perfect size for a circuit of this magnitude.

It took quite a while to figure out this layout, and it is probably not the most efficient setup ever, but it seems to minimize the length of the bus wires that I will need to run.

The top blank space is for the LCD display and the other output devices, the middle area is for the microcode ROMs/Program ROMs, and the clock oscillator will go in the bottom empty slot.

I have put in a placeholder for the LCD and labeled the ROMs but this has taken quite a lot of time, most of it being consumed by stripping all of those power connectors so this is all I will be doing today.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page