top of page
Writer's pictureJoshua McKelvey

First Project: 4 Bit Computer


I am starting my first serious project: a "simple" 4 bit computer. I chose to create BMOW's The Nibbler because it seems like the perfect blend between low level, discrete logic and LSI chips for the more "boring" parts like the the RAM and ROM. Also, I cannot resist projects where TTL IC's dominate! I do not have wire wrapping equipment (like the original was made from) or circuit fabrication tools like William Buchholz used for his PCB version so I will have to adapt this project to work on a breadboard.

Original Project:

PCB Version:

It seems that someone else has already created a breadboard version; however, they only posted one picture of their implementation with no other accompanying information:

I cannot simply copy their layout even if I wanted to as some of their parts are difficult to identify. (It is also quite messy, no offence to whomever wired it up as I have trouble with this problem as well!) I have already ordered my parts from Mouser, Digikey, and Electronix Express so they should all get here relatively soon so I can start the layout process.

Links to the original project by Steve Chamberlin and the PCB version by William Buchholz:

https://www.bigmessowires.com/category/nibbler/

http://imgur.com/a/Hn5wC#0


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page